这很有趣,运动中的事情会如此变化快速。我不会刻意谈论球场上发生的事情,因为更重要的是其背后所做出的决定,以及这些决定和他人意见如何能够大大影响你作为一名运动员的愿望。基于这个原因,过去12个月来,我们一直处于资金颠簸的处境,在本周英国体育宣布现在他确实给我们投入资金,并成为他们新“奖牌资助计划”的一部分之后,我们在东京奥运会取得成功的雄心壮志得到了重大提升。、

你可能还记得12个月前英国体育撤销羽毛球的所有中央资金。这项运动从根本上摇摇欲坠,那段时间以来,整个球队都被置于黑暗之中,我们清楚那项决定对我们的未来意味着什么。虽然这笔资金的削减是沉重的,(考虑到这因素,我们的球队规模在一夜之间就减半了),对于我和加布里而言,我们清楚知道这绝不会阻止我们实现对奥运的野心。这确实意味着我们得换个角度认真地思考事情……我们需要让自己在海外立足吗?我们将如何最妥善地支撑球队?我们如何与拥有顶级支持的同行队伍竞争呢?有太多的问题,说实话,并不是我们期待听到的答案。

因此,在过去的12个月里已经有一段为此挣扎的时间,为了融入这样一个新的标准,也就是大英职业羽毛球运动员理应适应的新环境。我们旅游生涯一去不复返了。我们失去了包括心理学、生理学、营养学、力量和条件的所有EIS支持。一切都结束了。所以我们必须建立自己的人脉网络,成为我们基于兼职的支持团队。在过去的两个月里,我们已经有了很大的力量和调理帮助,这已经造成大幅度的改变,但在此之前,我们在健身房,汲取了多年来积累的知识,有效地将我们自己的训练计划结合。有些时候,在球场上没有提供理疗协助,或者我们得与对我们一无所知的理疗师合作,或是有时候也没有可用的理疗师。我们在国家羽毛球中心的小型羽毛球社区必须集体合并,我们必须重组,而我们亦克服了。

这基本上是我们在过去12个月里一直在做的事情,所以昨天的消息告知加布里和我目前可以从这笔资金中受益,这是无疑让我们松了一口气。东京奥运之前,我们的球队将获得63万英镑。从本质上讲,它将使我们有能力在周遭建立一个支持团队,帮助我们实际性地从活动中受益,而不仅是木纳地做出处理和打勾记录完结度,并汇报已完成每项工作。我们将能够获得所需要的一切,不折不扣地争取成功。我们想要实现这一切,而现在我们不必再担心这些事情。我们可以把重点放在重要的东西上,只有这样才能帮助我们站在东京的领奖台。

这是真正重要的,我们非常感谢您们付出的一切。首先,我们必须感谢英格兰羽毛球协会在过去一年持续提供的支持。其次,我们必须感谢认同我们绩效的英国体育,感谢他们认可我们最近赢得的比赛,并给予奖励。这笔资金对我们来说会有所不同 – 它代表了管理和努力的不同结果。你知道所有关于边际收益的事情,事实上它确实很重要,而且我们打算向体育界展示这种支持所带来的种种差异,从我们的复出赛开始,直到2020年的东京奥运。

再次感谢英国体育。您的支持意味良多。

克里斯(与加布里)

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

It’s funny how things can change quickly in sport. I’m not necessarily talking about things that happen on court, but more so the decisions that are made off it, and how these decisions and opinions of others can drastically affect your aspirations as an athlete. As a result of this, we’ve been on a bit of a funding roller coaster these last 12 months, but our ambitions to succeed at the Tokyo Olympic Games time were given a major boost this week after UK Sport announced it would indeed now fund us as part of their new ‘medal support plan.’

You might remember 12 months ago that UK Sport withdrew all of badminton’s central funding. The sport was pretty much shaken to the core and for some time we, and the whole of the performance squad, were left in the dark as to what this meant for our futures. Whilst this funding cut was serious, (bare in mind it meant that our performance squad was halved overnight), for Gabby and I we knew it would never stop us from trying to realise our Olympic ambitions. It did mean that we had to seriously start to think about things differently….would we need to base ourselves overseas? How would we afford the best possible support team? How could we possibly compete against our peers who had top class support systems at their disposal? There were so many questions, and honestly, not always the answers we wanted to hear.

And so the last 12 months has been a bit of a battle, to fit into this new norm of what being a pro badminton player in GB looked like. Gone were the days of our travelling physio. We lost all the EIS support which included psychology, physio, nutrition, and strength and conditioning. It all went. And so we had to build up our own network of people who’ve been our support team on a part time basis. We’ve had strength and conditioning help for the last two months which has made such a great difference, but before then we were in the gym, drawing down on the knowledge we’d built up over years to effectively pull together our own training programme. There were times when there was no physio on court, or when we’d have to work with the tournament physio who knew nothing about us or who wasn’t even available. Our small badminton community based at the National Badminton Centre had to pull together collectively, we regrouped and we came through it.

And that was basically what we’ve been doing for the last 12 months, and so yesterday’s news that Gabby and I would now benefit from the funding was such a welcome relief. Our sport will receive £630,000 before the Tokyo Olympics. Essentially it will give us the ability to build a support team around us who can help us to actually benefit from our sessions, not just handle them and tick a box to say that yes, we’d completed each session. We’ll be able to get what we need to strive for success without compromise. We want to achieve everything and now we don’t have to worry so much about things. We can just focus on what’s important, and only that will help us reach the podium in Tokyo.

It’s really important that we say a couple of big thank you’s. Firstly to Badminton England for continuing to fight our corner over this past year. And secondly, to UK Sport who have recognised our results and rewarded us for the recent medals we’ve won. This funding will make such a difference to us – it represents the difference between managing and striving. You know all that talk about marginal gains, well it really does matter, and we intend to show the sporting world exactly the kind of difference this kind of support can make, starting at our comeback tournament, and right the way through to Tokyo 2020.

Thank you again UK Sport. Your support means so much.

Chris (and Gabby).

(Photo credit: Badminton Photo)