如果有任何人询问我这段时间如何回到赢球的步伐,我无法给出一个答案,证实我们不仅能够定期回归参与比赛,而且还能够再次获得冠军。这对我们来说是全部; 我们可以自豪地坐在这里说我们是英联邦混双冠军,在2018年黄金海岸赢得了金牌(和一枚铜牌),现在又成为欧洲混双冠军。我们胜利了!

你们都知道我们在今年第一季度面临的困难,我也绝对不会在这个博客上提起它们。我们真的觉得我们已经峰回路转,任何可为精英运动员造成危机的问题早在长期康复时被消除了。

在我们去参加英联邦运动会之前,我们对前路不报任何期许。是的,我们之前可以在尤尼斯全英赛场上进行自我检测,但是在长时间的休整之后前往澳大利亚并成为卫冕冠军,我们的2018赛季终于有了美好的一刻, 这漫长的飞机旅程将以我们的胜利而告终。当然,这是永远不会结束的!

英联邦运动会对我们意义重大,我们也全心全意想赢得比赛。我们知道我们必须达到一定水平才能击败与我们实力接近的对手,而我们希望如果能够做到这一点,我们所拥有的经验和必胜的意愿足以让我们越过终点。在方方面面,我们为自己在球场上的发挥感到惊讶,但回过头一看,我们在身体和精神方面都非常棒,并且非常渴望再次参加比赛,这次延长的歇息期可说是对我们帮助甚大。有点像费德勒在网球场上缺席红土赛季,接着像雏菊一样精神饱满。

回顾总决赛当天我们的照片,我们的情绪非常激动。我们对彼此可完结整个比赛以及我们可以一起赢得金牌感到非常自豪。站在领奖台上非常让人感性。赢得金牌当然是不可思议的,但说实话,过去三个月一直颠簸难受,所以这次胜利更加甜美。而通过这一切,让我们更珍惜彼此。有伴侣陪同在身边,即使是在黑暗时刻,也绝对可以让我们更容易把注意力集中在我们将面前的事情上。

我们抱着自豪的心情离开澳大利亚 – 当然这包括我们、我们的队友以及其他将身心投入这一赛事的人。我们在2018年从没有任何表现,直到成为英联邦冠军。我们是否有提到在比赛开始前,我扭伤了拇指,而克里斯扭伤了他的小腿?!

因此,我们离开了澳大利亚,挥手告别至今我们认为是最好的运动员住宿,然后赶快回家,接着必须直奔西班牙南部的韦尔瓦参加欧洲锦标赛。我们成功卫冕英联邦冠军赛后,我们也知道我们可以同样在欧洲锦标赛赢得比赛。我们的表现出乎意料地好,我们完成了精彩的比赛,回到赛场的新鲜感仍然历历在目。幸运的是,对于我们来说,这种状态可以保留在我们身上,我们很高兴我们已经成为第一个成功捍卫欧洲冠军的英国二人混双。在紧逼的三场比赛中击败丹麦第二粒种子,这令人筋疲力尽、令人兴奋,如果你有观看我们的赛点,那肯定会因为那紧迫感而无法适从!感谢韦尔瓦,让我们参加了一场伟大的比赛。我们必须提及我们的球队,他们把我们从困境解放出来,帮助我们重新获得胜利。

老实说,最后两个赛事的表现对我们来说已是最好的情况了。如果你在一个月前告诉我们,我们将在2018年实现我们最大的两个目标,那么我不确定我们会相信你。过去几个月对我们来说确实不是那么容易,但我们无论如何都做到了,并且希望我们在今年的下一个重大比赛中能够回到正轨。我们现在想要做的就是回家,看看我们的家人,并紧紧拥抱他们。 我们离开太久了,我们很想念他们,我们已经回来了。过去四个月,对我们而言是无与伦比的体验。

如果这不是为了体验,那么生活是什么? 为生活装上尽可能多的体会。而我指的不仅是好的东西、或是简单的东西。你需要体会不如意的经验、自由落体的时刻、恐惧、对美好事物的犹豫。当你为这一切付出心血时,事情真的会变得更好。

所以当我们坐在这里写下这篇最新的博客文章时,我知道过去几个月的所有压力都是绝对值得的,而我们正是我们想要的 – 重返领奖台并更加珍惜这一切。我们还有一段时间可以磨合,如果我们能保持身体状态良好,这没有理由不促使2018年真正成为一个很棒的一年。

稍后再说!

加布里

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

So someone asked me recently how it felt to get back to winning ways and there’s no way I can give an answer that justifies how utterly elated we are to not only be back playing regularly, but to also be winning titles again. It is EVERYTHING to us right now; that we can proudly sit here and say we’re double Commonwealth Champions having won gold (and a team bronze) at Gold Coast 2018, and now double European champions. Get in!

You’ll all know about the struggles we faced in the first quarter of the year, and I’m absolutely not going to harp on about them in this blog. We really feel like we’ve turned a corner, and any mini identity crisis that was looming has long been dismissed as an understandable wobble that all elite athletes face when they’re in long term rehab.

We went to the Commonwealth Games not really knowing what to expect. Yes, we’d been able to test ourselves beforehand at the YONEX All England, but going to Oz as defending champions after a long lay-off had all the hallmarks of being either a beautiful moment where our 2018 season finally got underway, or a very long plane journey that was going to end with us relinquishing our title. And of course that was never going to happen!

The Commonwealth Games mean so much to us and we wanted to win so badly. We knew that we had to find a certain level in order to beat our closest rivals, and we hoped that if we were able to do that, our experience and pure will to win would have been enough to get us over the finish line. In many ways, we surprised ourselves with the form we were able to find on court, but looking back, we were so fresh both physically and mentally, and so hungry to get competing again that the extended break may even have done us a favour or two. A bit like when Federer skips the clay court season in tennis and then hits the grass fresh as a daisy!

Looking back at the pictures of us on Finals day, it was so emotional. We’re really proud of one another for how we approached the whole tournament and how we held it together to win the gold. Standing on the podium was extremely emotional. Of course it was incredible to have won gold, but honestly the last three months have been a real up-hill struggle at times that victory was even sweeter this time around. Through everything, what helps is having each other. Having your partner by your side throughout definitely made it easier to stay focussed on what was right in front of us, even through the darker moments.

We left Oz feeling so proud – of ourselves, our team mates and everyone who put their heart and soul into that event. We went from not having anything to show for 2018, to being Commonwealth Champions, and did I mention that I’d sprained my thumb and Chris had sprained his calf before the tournament even started?!

So we left Oz, waved goodbye to probably the best athletes’ village we’ll ever stay in, and headed for a quick pit stop back home before moving straight on to Huelva in southern Spain for the Europeans Championships. Having defended our Commonwealth title, we knew we could do the same at the Europeans. Our form was surprisingly good, we’d got some great matches under our belt and the freshness of being back competing was still with us. And luckily for us that form stayed with us, and we’re so happy that we’ve become the first English duo to successfully have defended a European crown. Beating the Danish second seeds in a really tight three set match was both exhausting and exhilarating, and if you saw our match point, it definitely went down to the wire with a line call that was really too close for comfort! Thank you Huelva for putting on a great event, and we should absolutely mention our team who’ve somehow pulled it out of the bag, to help us get back to winning ways.

Honestly, the last two events could not have gone better for us and this is absolutely the best case scenario. If you’d told us one month ago that we would have achieved two of our biggest aims for 2018 then I’m not sure we would have believed you. Things really haven’t been that easy for us these last few months, but we did it regardless and are hopeful that we’re now back on track as we head into the next major events of the year. All we want to do now is head home, see our family, and hug them close. It’s been too long and we’ve missed them hugely having been back on the road again. The last four months have been quite the experience.

And what’s life for if it’s not about experience? Packing in as much of it as you can bear. And I don’t just mean the good stuff. Or the easy stuff. You need to feel the bad stuff, the moments of free-fall, the fear, the doubt to appreciate when you’ve got it good. It’s true that things feel better when you’ve worked for them.

So as we sit here writing this latest blog instalment, I know all the stresses of the last few months have been absolutely worth it and that we’re right where we’re meant to be – back on the podium and appreciating it more than ever. We’ve got some serious time to make up for and if we can keep ourselves fit, there’s no reason we can’t actually turn 2018 into a great year after all.

Speak soon!

Gabby

(Photo Credit: Badminton Photo)