克里斯·爱德考克: 我最喜欢的运动员
我经常被问到谁是我最喜欢的运动员,或者哪位运动员在我年轻的时候对我的启发最大,因此我想把这些想法放在部落格并与你分享。

彼得·盖德 – 丹麦

我要怎么形容彼得… 他是羽毛球坛的传奇人物,多年来他都代表着欧洲球界。在我真正见到他之前,我对他也有所耳闻。我在此稍微透露一下我的年龄,当时还没有出现YouTube平台! 和我一起玩的每个人都在谈论彼得,这位来自丹麦年轻有活力的球员以激进的比赛风格和令人难以置信的球技震惊球场。在其他欧洲球员抱憾离场的时候,是他坚持着,并击败其他亚洲球员。
我记得当我9岁时,我在尤尼斯全英比赛观看彼得的比赛,看他带动整个现场氛围。那一年,他持续赢得比赛,他真的很棒!

在我开始参加国际高级比赛的最初几年里,我很幸运能够在他职业生涯的最后几年近距离接触彼得。他有很强的体力,并支撑他整个职业生涯中的各个比赛。他在道菲、李宗伟和林丹的时代之前就已经参赛了,并且当他们在汲取赛事经验时,彼得已参与最高规格的比赛。

我不时与彼得聊天,而他是一个非常谦虚和脚踏实地的人,这是非常了不起的,特别是鉴于他在整个职业生涯中所取得的所有成就。现在,他是一名竞赛教练,我很高兴看到他对这一运动作出的回馈。

勒西·迈纳基 – 印尼

他是瑞奇-勒西男双成员,也是最伟大的男子双打球员之一。他们的获奖列表犹如我的手臂长度,包括奥运冠军、世界冠军和多个亚运会冠军。

当我观看勒西的比赛时,能发现他的表现都是无与伦比的。他的比赛风格是如此充满活力、强大而技术也娴熟。勒西总是以正确的精神竞赛,具有超凡的魅力、付出100%的表现,而脸上总是笑容满面。直到今日,他仍然带有一种光环,当他走进一个房间时,一切都仿佛静止了,每个人都知道他会带来乐趣或开玩笑。没有人会说勒西的坏话,每个人都喜爱他。

虽然勒西是英格兰高级主教练,但他不时会来英格兰青少年训练营拜访我们并检验我们的训练。训练过程非常艰难,让我们进行金字塔培训,以发展我们的速度、力量和耐力。我们在大厅冲刺跑着,然后进行10次按压,再跑回来,接着进行9次按压等等。他会让我们继续训练,直到我们无法再做了。获得这种崭新体验让我很欣赏,尽管他球技很高超,但他有强烈的职业道德,以确保他的身体在任何时候都处于巅峰状态。

随着我年龄的增长并成为一名更强大的球员,我对比赛职业的其他球员的敬畏度却降低了。 我的注意力转向了我可以从他们身上学到的东西,将他们最好的方面融入我自己。
这意味着,目前有很多伟大的运动员参加巡回赛,我也认为,他们都值得被关注。

凯文·桑加亚·苏卡穆约 – 印尼

目前,最让我震撼的球员之一是凯文·桑加亚。他将印尼式竞赛风格、速度、爆炸性和不可预测的形象化演绎得淋漓至尽。他还让我想起勒西在球场上同样有趣的风格。

在球场上,他产生如此深刻的影响。在他风华正茂的年华,他已屡获多项奖项。我从来没有见过一个球员移动得如此快,网前球也是出神入化。在每个精彩片段中,凯文总是出于意料地将球从后面、两腿之间击出,仍然赢得比赛!

当然不得不赞赏他的搭档 – 吉德翁·马库斯·费尔纳尔迪,他们在一年中打破大多数超级系列赛冠军的纪录,在2017年获得10多个冠军奖项。马库斯也是一名出色的球员,具有极强的敏捷性、速度和力量,特别是在后场,他充满活力的比赛风格与伙伴相得益彰。

我曾多次与他们交谈,他们总是很快乐,也非常喜欢这一运动。

安赛龙 – 丹麦

安赛龙是欧洲羽毛球大使,也是欧洲男子单打、高级羽毛球领军人物,甚至是学习普通话的先驱!

当他成为世界U19冠军时,我首次对安赛龙有所耳闻,从此他迈入高级比赛。我记得在2017年格拉斯哥世界锦标赛上等待领取仪式时,当加布里和我从看台上观看安赛龙赢得世界冠军时,这是一个令人难以置信的时刻。

他也是我遇到的最专业的球员之一,他专注于比赛的每个细节以受益。 更不用说他是一位顶尖球员,却总是乐于抽时间和粉丝说话。掌握多国语言也有助于安赛龙与巡回赛中的所有球员聊天,每个人都很喜欢他。

我强调的每个球员的共同特点是,他们都非常有才华,对这一运动十分热情,同时也是脚踏实地的运动员。

加布里和我目前在接下来几周都在亚洲旅游,所以请关注我们的社交媒体更新,以便了解我们在南京世界锦标赛前的进展。

同勉之
克里斯

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

I often get asked who was my favourite player or who inspired me most when I was younger, so I thought that I would put together a blog and share them with you.

Peter Gade – Denmark

What can I say about Peter… he is a badminton legend, he has flown the flag for Europe for so many years. I had heard about Peter before I actually saw him, oh I’m showing my age a little here, as back then, there was no YouTube!! Everybody I played with was talking about Peter, this young dynamic player from Denmark who burst onto the scene with aggressive style of play and incredible deception. He was also beating Asian players consistently which filled a void.
I remember the first time I saw Peter play was at the Yonex All England when I was 9 years old, and he really lived up to the hype around him. He went on to win the tournament that year, he was awesome!

During the first few years that I started competing on the senior international circuit, I was fortunate to watch Peter up close as he was in the latter years of his career. He had great longevity and adapted his game across his career. He was around before Taufik Hidayat, Lee Chong Wei and Lin Dan’s era and was still competing at the highest level when they were established on the circuit.

From time to time I chat with Peter and he is an incredibly humble and down to earth guy, which is remarkable, especially due to all the success that he has had throughout his career. Now a coach on the circuit it’s great to see that he is giving back to the game.

Rexy Mainaky – Indonesia

One half of the Ricky and Rexy partnership and also one of the greatest men’s doubles players to have played the game. With a list of honours as long as my arm including Olympic Champion, World Champion and multiple Asian Games titles.

When I watched Rexy play he was practically unbeatable. His style of play was so dynamic, powerful and skilful around the net. Rexy always played the game in the right spirit, with charisma, playing at 100% and always with a smile on his face. Still, to this day, he has an aura, when he walks into a room everything stops, everyone knows there’s going to be fun or a joke coming. Nobody has a bad word to say about Rexy, everyone loves him.

Whilst Rexy was the England Senior Head Coach, from time to time he would come and visit us at the Junior England camps and put us through our paces. The sessions were extremely tough, making us do pyramid training to develop our speed, strength and endurance. We would sprint the length of the hall and then perform 10 press ups, run back and then do 9 press ups and so on. He would keep us going till we couldn’t go anymore. Getting this first-hand experience made me appreciate even though he was so skilful, he had a strong work ethic to ensure that he was physically at his peak at all times.

As I grew older and became a stronger player, I was less in awe of the other players on the circuit. My focus turned to what I could learn from them, taking the best aspects and putting them into my game.

That said there are lots of great players currently on the tour but these, in my opinion, are the ones to watch.

Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo – Indonesia

At the moment one of the most exciting players for me is Kevin Sukamuljo. He personifies the Indonesian way of playing, so quick, explosive and unpredictable. He also reminds me of Rexy in the way he has so much fun on court.

He made an immediate impact when he came onto the circuit. He’s won so much at such a young age. I’ve also never seen a player move so quickly and have such great touch around the net. In every highlight reel, there is always a montage of Kevin pulling out all the shots, from behind the back, between the legs and still winning the rally!

Credit has also got to go to his partner Marcus Fernaldi Gideon, as together they beat the record for most Super Series title wins in one year, where they walked away with 10 titles in 2017. Marcus’ is also an amazing player, with great agility, speed and power especially in the rear court, his energetic style of play compliments the partnership.

I’ve spoken with the guys on numerous occasions and they are always happy and absolutely love the game.

Viktor Axelson – Denmark

Viktor is such a great ambassador for European badminton, he has led the way for European men’s singles, playing high-quality badminton and even learning Mandarin!

I first heard about Viktor when he became World U19 Champion and he’s since converted that success onto the senior game. I remember waiting for our medal ceremony at the 2017 World Championships in Glasgow, when Gabby and I watched Viktor from the stands when he won the World title, it was an incredible moment.

He’s also one of the most professional players I’ve come across, he is focused on every single aspect of his game to create those marginal gains. Not to mention he’s a top guy, always happy to make time to speak to fans. Being multilingual certainly helps Viktor chat with all the players on the tour and he is well liked by everyone.

The common trait with each of the players who I have highlighted is that they are all extremely talented athletes who are dedicated to their sport but also down to earth, regular guys.

Gabby and I are now on our tour of Asia for the next few weeks so follow us on our social media channels to see our progress in the lead up to the World Championships in Nanjing.

All the best

Chris

Photo Credits: Badminton Photo