不久前,克里斯发布了一次博客文章,叙述他一些以往和现在最喜欢的球员,这让我也有所感触。我认为如果能与大家一起分享我喜欢的球员,也会非常棒。

我会从最开始说起:

卡米拉·马尔廷

在我的初级职业生涯中,我喜欢看单打比赛,也专注观察羽毛球赛优秀女球员。当时,我最喜欢的是来自丹麦的卡米拉·马尔廷,她在这项运动中取得如此优秀的成绩,这对我而言,是真正的启发。

在接近尤尼克斯全英羽毛球公开赛时,我会显得额外兴奋,因为这将是我一年中唯一能看到我偶像的机会。在观察卡米拉的比赛时,我总是能从中获益良多、达到期望,接着我会恳请父母带我去尤尼克斯商店,购买她穿过的同款新衬衫或裙子。

随着我迈入职业生涯,显然我涉足这项运动的双打和混双。

赵芸蕾

赵芸蕾来自中国,截今她已几乎实现所有身为羽毛球员的目标。她获得双打和混合的多个奥运会和世界冠军,她是我见过及较量过最猛的对手。

她是这样一位优秀的球员,尽管我们正在较量,但我总是会尽力观察并尽可能多地从她那里学习。她的节奏是如此地快以及进攻性,一旦她掌控了球场,就没有人再能与之争锋!

事实上,她一直维持身体健壮,因此她在女子双打和混合赛中一直是世界最好的。我想她是如今唯一一位在同一届奥运会获得双打和混合双打金牌的女性。 (2012年伦敦奥运会)

虽然与她对战非常辛苦,但是我还是很喜欢挑战她,也让我自己可以与古今其中一位最棒的球员一较高下。

亨德拉·塞蒂亚万

亨德拉是这项运动的真正传奇人物,也是一位真正的绅士! 同时,亨德拉也是奥运会和世界冠军,他长时间涉足于羽毛球职业生涯,但仍然处于如此高的竞赛水平。

当我刚开始参加职业高级巡回赛时,亨德拉和他的搭档马尔基斯·基多在北京奥运会上获胜,而我非常有幸地能在现场观看比赛。这是一场了不起的比赛,在第3场比赛中,印尼人的表现非常不可思议。

亨德拉总是让这一切看起来很容易(不过,请相信我,不是那样的!!!)他总是领先对手一步,似乎总是知道将球击去最好的位置、完美地发挥所长。我想我喜欢观看亨德拉比赛的主要原因之一是他惊人的网前表现,我认为他的球技是首屈一指,他总是很冷静地达到这一点。

去年在印度超级联赛中我们打得很有趣,我和克里斯搭档在训练中与亨德拉进行了一场有趣的3对3比赛,并且看到他最擅长的网前球,真的令人惊叹。当时比分是 14-14, 当亨德拉在网前时,我和克里斯几乎没有机会得分,最终比分以21-14败北!!哈哈!

卡罗列娜·马琳

最后但很重要的一位球员是卡罗列娜•马琳。目前,她是史上最成功的女单选手,几个月前在南京第三次赢得世界冠军,并在2016年里约奥运会上获得奥运冠军。卡罗列娜确实为欧洲在这项运动铺路,并且自2014年以来一直在这些大型比赛占主导地位。

我最欣赏卡罗列娜的是她的胜念和斗志,看她比赛真的非常棒。她在比赛中的速度也很疯狂,每当赛事变得胶着时,她似乎有办法突破。

我认为唯一的疑问是,卡罗列娜在结束自己的职业生涯时,会获得多少份奖项,以及是否还有人能触及她的成就。

我希望你们喜欢阅读这次的博客文章 – 关于我最喜欢的球员,也请你们保持关注、留意我们的下一篇文章。

稍后再聊
加布里

 

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

A little while ago Chris did a blog discussing some of his favourite players, both past and present, which got me thinking about who mine are and thought this would be quite cool for me to share with you guys.

I thought I’d start at the very beginning:

Camilla Martin

All the way through my junior career I loved playing singles, and watching the women at the very top of the sport in this discipline. At this time it was Camilla Martin from Denmark, she achieved so much in the sport and was a real inspiration for me.

I would always get so excited when it came around to the Yonex All England as this was usually be my only chance in a year to watch my idol. Watching Camilla play always lived up to my expectations & was always followed by me dragging my parents to the Yonex shop to buy the latest shirt or dress that she had worn.

As I moved through my career I obviously moved into the doubles & mixed disciplines of the sport.

Zhao Yunlei

Zhao Yunlei from China, now there’s pretty much nothing that Zhao Yunlei didn’t achieve as a badminton player. Multiple Olympic and World Champion in both doubles & mixed, and one of the most fierce competitors that I have seen and have played against.

She was always someone that, even though we were competing against, I would always watch and try and learn as much as I could from her. She was so fast and so aggressive, once she got hold of the shuttle at the net there was no getting it away from her!

Also the fact that she was able to consistently be the very best in the World in both women’s doubles and mixed doubles showed how fit & strong she was. I think to this day she is the only woman to win both the doubles and mixed doubles Gold medal at the same Olympic games. (London 2012)

Although of course it was always extremely tough I used to love the challenge of playing against her and taking her on & pitting myself against who in my opinion is one of, if not THE best ever.

Hendra Setiawan

Hendra is a true Legend of our sport and also a true gentleman! Again Hendra is both an Olympic & World Champion and has had an amazing career that has lasted so long and is still going at such a high level.

I was lucky enough to actually be watching live when Hendra, along with his partner Markis Kido, won the Olympics in Beijing when I had just started out on the professional senior tour. It was an amazing match and in the 3rd set the Indonesians were incredible.

The thing about Hendra is that he makes everything look so easy (and trust me it isn’t!!!) he is always one step ahead of his opponents and always seems to know exactly where to look for the next shot and play the perfect reply. I think one of the main reasons I love watching Hendra play so much is how amazing he is around the net, his touch and skill I think is second to none and he always does it with such calmness.

It was quite funny last year at the Indian Premier League we got to play a fun 3 vs 3 match in training with Hendra on mine & Chris’s team and wow seeing him do what he does best at the net so close was amazing. We were actually 14-14 in the match when it was Hendra’s turn at the net and we ended up winning 21-14 without me or Chris hardly hitting a shot!! haha!

Carolina Marin

Last, but by no means least, would be Carolina Marin. Now the most successful Women’s Singles player of all time, after winning the World Championship for the 3rd time in Nanjing a couple months ago to go along side her Olympic crown in Rio 2016. Carolina really has paved the way for Europe in her discipline, and has dominated the majors since 2014.

What I admire about Carolina the most is her desire and fighting spirit, it really is great to watch. Also the speed that she plays the game at is crazy, and whenever things seem to get tough she always seems to have another gear to move into.

I think the only question with Carolina is how many titles will she end her career with, and if anyone will get close to her achievements.

I hope that you guys have enjoyed reading my blog about my favorite players and stay tuned and look out for our next blog.

Speak soon,
Gabby

 

(Photo Credit: Badminton Photo)