那一天,我在印度球场上摔倒,我的脚踝“嚓咔”一声隐隐在耳。此后的12周内发生了很多事情。当然,有时我觉得这挫折感会让人沸沸扬扬,但是康复时期和周遭的团体努力重新修复“旧的”加布里,并让我们达到最终可以投入工作的阶段。整体上,返回赛场从未感觉如此良好。

纵观一切,我们对及时康复的目标坚决不移,以便能参加我们年度最喜欢的比赛 –伯明翰尤尼克斯全英公开赛。在比赛开始前的几天里,对于这是否是正确的做法,我感到有点触动。我承认我的身体素质并不完美,但是我确实与预期状态相差不大。我的脚踝感觉很好,但随着英联邦运动会几乎立即举行,这不仅是在伯明翰投入我所有力量,而我也会在稍后才处理可能接踵而来的疼痛。我们必须确保从长远角度来看这是正确的。在大约90%的完美身体状况下,我们觉得这是值得一试的。

如果是其他比赛,我们是否会参加比赛?我不确定。而作为一名英国羽毛球运动员,有机会在您国家主场最有声望的比赛中参赛是一种激励,所以我们竭尽全力确保我们尽可能地做好准备。

走在球场就是这样一种绚丽的感觉。在经历前几个月的一切情绪后 -失望、沮丧、疲惫之后 – 这真是一个令人陶醉的时刻,我们将投入其中,这绝对没有任何损失。您可以通过我们脸上满溢的笑容知道这对我们是意味着什么。

尽管我们心中深知加冕全英冠军将会是一个艰难要求,但再次参加比赛真是太棒了。身为一名运动员,我们习惯性地想赢得胜利,挑战自我并将自己推到个人极限。由于长时间无法参赛,我们对比赛有着深深的渴望,而我们对发挥出的水平和最终成绩感到惊喜。我们在第一轮击败了世界第八的混双组合,然后在第二轮击败了世界第七的混双组合。能够重新拥有世界排名前10的实力感觉真棒,即使我们在对战日本队的次复赛中的第三局中惜败,但是我们还是可以真正感到自豪,不仅是我们如何超越我们对本次比赛的预期 ,亦是我们如何对整体职业生涯的掌握。

我们现在就去下一站… 我们现在处于澳大利亚黄金海岸,这里阳光灿烂,下一场比赛也即将来临。对战两支马来西亚队可能是我们比赛的最大挑战,其中一队我们曾在伯明翰的第一轮比赛中击败。我们有一周时间来适应(并且是绝对意味着通过享受欢乐的游泳时光来适应天气),以便适应这种可怕的时差,并适应赛场。

这对我们来说是一个非常棒的两周时间。第一周是团体赛,接下来的一周是个人赛。而最棒的是我们绝对没有任何压力。我们来到这世界的另一端,而我们也不打算空手回家。我们感觉身体一切良好。终究,我们将准备再次开始获胜!

祝愿代表祖国在澳大利亚参赛的全体人员,特别是英格兰队!

稍后再聊

加布里

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

That day I fell over on court in India and heard my ankle pop seems like a mini lifetime ago now. So much has happened in the 12 weeks since. Naturally at times it’s felt like my frustration levels were going to boil over, but the hours of rehab and the team around us have helped to package up the old Gabby and get us to this point where we can finally get back to business. Being back competing has literally never felt so good.

Throughout everything, we never once took our eyes off our goal of recovering efficiently in time to reach one of our favourite tournaments of the year – the YONEX All England Open in Birmingham. In the days leading up to the event, it was a bit touch and go as to whether it was the right thing to do. I admit I wasn’t at full fitness, but I really wasn’t far off at all. My ankle felt good, but with the Commonwealth Games happening almost immediately after, it wasn’t just a case of throwing everything at Birmingham and I’ll deal with any pain later. We had to be sure it was the right thing to do for the long term, and at about 90% fitness, we felt it was a risk worth taking.

Would we have competed if it was any other tournament? I’m not sure. As a British badminton player, having the chance to compete at home in one of your sport’s most prestigious events is such a motivator, and so we pulled out all the stops to ensure we were as ready as we could be.

Walking out onto court was just such a brilliant feeling. After all the emotions of the previous months – disappointment, frustration, fatigue – this was really a moment to savour and we just went out there with absolutely nothing to lose. You can probably tell by the smiles on our faces how much it meant to us.

And so even though we knew in our heart of hearts that being crowned All England champions would have been a big ask, it was just fantastic to be competing again. As an athlete, we’re conditioned to want to win, to challenge ourselves and to push our own boundaries. Not having had that in so long really made us want it even more and we were pleasantly surprised with the level we found and the results we got. We beat the world number eight pairing in round one, and then the world number seven in round two. To step straight back into playing top 10 level was really great, and even though we lost a tight three set quarter final to the Japanese pair, we can look back with real pride at not just how we managed to surpass our expectations for this particular tournament, but how we’ve managed this whole period of our careers.

And so onwards we go…and we’re now here on the Gold Coast in Australia where the sun is shining and the next competition is looming. The two Malaysian pairs are probably our biggest competition, one of which we beat in round one in Birmingham. We have one week to acclimatise (and yes that absolutely means acclimatising to the weather by enjoying some pool time), to shift this hideous jet lag, and to get used to the arena.

This is a massive fortnight for us. In week one it’s the team tournament, followed by a week of the individual event. What’s really great is that we feel absolutely no pressure. We’ve travelled to the other side of the world and we don’t intend to go home empty handed. We’re feeling fit, and at long last, we’re ready to start winning again!

Good luck to everyone representing the Home Nations in Oz, especially Team England!

Speak soon

Gabs

(Photo Credit: Badminton Photo)