自从结束印度羽毛球超级联赛(PBL)后,我们从印度回到英国。我在康复室里待了很长一段时间,并发表了这篇博客文。你可能还记得我们对争取清奈扣杀者的荣耀感到非常兴奋。这是我们期待了很久的一件事。这次赛事进展还算蛮顺利,可是在我们比赛的第三场中发生了意外。我在决胜赛时,绊到克里斯的脚,伴随一声巨响,我摔在地上。我记得我尝试在网前切球,不过克里斯却比我想象的更为接近。英国医生的官方诊断为 – 韧带损伤和骨头受伤。显然,这不是我们对今年的新出发所设想的!

不过,在印度一游的开心事还是有很多。在PBL中参赛的经历令人惊叹。在一个大型团队中出游拥有独特的乐趣。在我们外出的那几个星期,我们都开怀大笑、享受旅程。接着,轮到我们代表团队发挥表现时,我们就在球场上全力以赴。联赛的强度甚至让你能与你的搭档产生一种深厚友谊,留下一辈子的美好回忆。我还要补充一点的是,印度的美食是无与伦比的,而有机会环游印度并体验之前没有拜访过的国家真是我们绝对的荣幸。

因此,我们回来了,我试图让伤势恢复,而克里斯成为我尽责的居家丈夫。尽管我的脚踝还是很疼痛,但奇异的是,克里斯似乎更为辛苦。他在接下来的一段时间都有很长的训练,总共有8至10星期,他面临的挑战显然是需要保持精神坚定。他需要维持动力,因此我总是在替补席上做些事来为他加油打气。这并不是说他可以直接和另一个搭档配合,让他保持战斗力。新的比赛结构意味着只有列入排位的搭档才能参与某些比赛,所以这将绝对不会是一个选项。

相反,我们正试图充分应用这个突然临至的空闲期。当处在参赛的旅程时,我不能描述我们有多渴望家居的舒适,期待可以做一些简单的事情,比如去逛超市或者去电影院看戏。但是,这并不是我们刻意选择的休闲时间,不过因此我们还是尽可能地享受它。此刻,我们原本是应该准备出发去印尼和印度,明显的是基于这个原因,一切都不可能发生。每个人都不断告诉我尽情在家享受休闲,不过我已经有些心痒痒的感觉,我应该回到征途,到一些遥远的国家,站在属于我的球场上战斗。这是一个受伤运动员的严峻现实。这是一种令人沮丧的压抑感,加上只能眼睁睁看着其他人努力训练,心中有种说不出的无奈和渴望。

就康复而言,这是日复一日休养的等待。我以前从来没有受过这样的伤势,尽管这一切都很严峻,我知道我正处于我所需的地方 – 我有一个杰出的团队,帮助我完成这个疗程。这是让我感到非常积极正面的事情。我全身心地投入,我几乎每天都很期待这一点一滴的进展。我们非常幸运能够与一些非常棒的人一起合作,他们协助让我焕然一新。他们在这方面是绝对的专业,我享受与所有协助我达到这一步的团队合作。他们帮助我尽可能地保持自己的力量,练习大量的核心动作,并进行大量的平稳练习。平衡板已经成为我最好的新朋友。我清楚知道有些时候会感觉前方道路似乎完全崩溃,但心理上我已准备好应付我们所处的状况。我们的团队一直协助我保持乐观,并让我对即将面临的事情保持积极心态。我知道我具有相应的应变能力、技术和幽默面对这一切。

谈到接下来的一些计划,我们暂时还没有做出任何回归赛场的议程表。是的,我们清楚知道我们什么时候会返回赛场,但是现在我们会保持低调。我所知道的是,这脚踝的伤势不会对我们夏天的计划造成影响。新的赛程、新的赞助合同、更多的奖金和更多的锦标赛,这是一个未知的一年。有很多的变化。三月份的全英赛对我们而言,是一个很大的目标,四月份的英联邦运动会、欧洲羽毛球锦标赛、当然还有世界羽毛球锦标赛亦是如此。

有一件事是肯定的 – 这几个月将会是列入史诗的时刻。我们拥有一些令人难以置信的重要时刻和一些相当肯定人生的时刻。事情很少按照期望的方式运行,我们相信2018年也不例外。 来吧!

满满的爱,

加布里

I write this blog from the rehab room where I’ve been spending so much of my time since we got home from India where we were competing in the Premier Badminton League (PBL). You might remember how excited we were to compete for the Chennai Smashers. It was something we’d looked forward to for so long. The trip was going well, and then disaster struck in our third game, our ‘trump’ game no less, when I clipped Chris’s foot, heard a pop and hit the floor. I remember trying to cut out a shot at the net, and turned out that Chris was much closer to me than I’d thought. The official diagnosis from the doctor here at home – ligament damage and a bruised bone. Clearly this is not how we’d envisaged starting off the year!

Onto the positives of the Indian trip though, because there were many. The whole experience of playing in the PBL was amazing. Being part of a big travelling team was as fun as it was unique. We laughed our way through the few weeks we were out there, and gave our all on the court when it was our turn to represent the team. The intensity of the league is such that you develop a kind of friendship on steroids with your teammates that leaves for some wonderful memories that will last forever. I should also add that the food was incredible and the opportunity to travel round India and see parts of the country we’d never been to before was a real privilege.

So here we are back home, trying to rehab myself back to fitness and Chris being the dutiful house husband. As much as my ankle is still pretty painful, in a strange way it’s almost harder for Chris. He has a long training block in front of him, about 8-10 weeks in total, and the challenge for him is to not get mentally drained. He needs to keep his motivation up so I’m always doing my bit from the bench to push him. It’s not like he could just head off and compete with another partner to keep him match sharp. The new structure means only ranked pairs can enter certain events so this was never going to be an option.

Instead, we’re trying to make the most of this impromptu downtime. When you’re on the road, I can’t tell you how much we long for home comforts and to do simple things like go to the supermarket or go to the cinema. But this isn’t downtime we’ve chosen and we’re therefore struggling to enjoy it as much as we might. We should have just started a trip to Indonesia and India but clearly this isn’t happening for obvious reasons. Everybody keeps telling me to enjoy being at home but I’ve already got that itchy feeling that I should be back on the road, back on the match court in some far-flung place. That’s the stark reality of being an injured athlete. It’s an overriding feeling of total frustration coupled with boredom and jealousy that others are getting on with their training.

As far as rehab goes, it’s just a case of taking it a day at a time. I’ve never had an injury quite like this before and despite the grimness of it all, I know I’m exactly where I need to be – surrounded by a brilliant team who are helping me through this process. It’s something I’m feeling very positive about. I’m throwing myself in to it and I really enjoy seeing little bits of progress on an almost daily basis. We’re so lucky to work with some totally awesome people who are helping to package up the old me. They are absolute geniuses and I’ve loved working with all the team who’ve helped me to get to this point. They’re helping me to maintain my strength where I can, practice tonnes of core work and do lots of stability work. Wobble boards have become my new best friend. I know there’ll be times when it feels like the road has fallen away completely but I feel very ready to deal with the situation we’ve found ourselves in. Our team are always helping to keep me optimistic and excited about what’s to come, and I know I’ve got the resilience, skills and sense of humour to deal with it all.

Speaking about what’s coming up, we aren’t putting any timelines on our return from this. Yes, we have an idea of when we’d like to return but we’re keeping that quiet for now. All I know for sure is that this ankle injury won’t affect our summer. It’s a bit of an unknown year with a new calendar, new sponsorship deals, more prize money and more tournaments. There’s lots of change. The All England in March is a big aim for us, as are the Commonwealth Games in April, the European Championships plus of course the World Championships.

One thing’s for sure – it’s been an epic few months. We’ve had some unbelievably high moments and some fairly life affirming times. Things rarely pan out the way you expect and we’re sure 2018 will be no different. Bring it on!

Love,

Gabby