我们在2014年格拉斯哥英联邦运动会上赢得我们最负盛名的冠军之一似乎有些不真实,如今相距长达有令人面红耳赤的四年。在方方面面,这感觉就像昨天似的。克里斯和我经常自觉会回想起那一天– 不仅仅是为了回忆,而且我们还将它视为驱动力和加强信心,因为我们知道当我们处于最佳状态时,我们可以击败任何人。

那时候,无论您从任何地方看,都能感受到运动会的激情。当场有一种自信、能力和自豪的气氛,整个活动非常出色。这项运动是顶级的、活动组织是无瑕的、气氛是磁性的。这是多项体育赛事的一部分,我们早在2010年的德里参加我们第一次的英联邦运动会,而这是我们十分特别的回忆的一部分,这种令人难以置信的感觉,也总是我们非常期待的东西。

对我们来说,2014年格拉斯哥的经历强调了英联邦运动会的相关程度。而英联运动会的某些体育项目,其困难度就像在世界锦标赛或奥运会上一样难以赢得奖牌。在羽毛球方面,我们错过与一些像中国、印尼和丹麦这样的大国交手的机会,可是却还有马来西亚作为对手,竞争性仍然是世界级的。不要相信任何人诉说英联邦运动会现在并不如何重要,事实上他们不仅是注重比赛和奖牌,而是为了他们留下的精神以及对一代体育明星的激励力量。

时光如梭,如今已是四年后了,我们覆上灰尘的护照派上用场了(有一段时间了!!),并前往澳大利亚的黄金海岸,我们将在4月4日开始的比赛中代表英格兰队参赛。我承认……我感到神经振奋和高度兴奋,但没有什么比通过艰苦训练来帮助您实现目标更激励。对我来说,我期待回到领奖台上,把金牌挂在脖子上,并唱着我们的国歌。

我们以头号种子的身份参加格拉斯哥运动会,可是今年会有些不同。由于我的伤势,我们最近没有参加比赛,所以我们不知道我们是否会给予种子身份。我真的觉得,尽管我们在卫冕冠军,但压力已不再,这与格拉斯哥的处境完全不同,当时决赛中我们在主场的观众面前打球,期望水平也很高。我们会对银牌或是铜牌满意吗?其实,在这个阶段,我们旨在获得金牌。我们在3月27日飞往目的地,有一周的时间适应。对我们而言不幸的是,没有时间在运动会开始时出去观看其他比赛,因为第一周有团队比赛,而第二周有个人比赛。这将是有趣的,看看澳大利人对羽毛球的观念。我并不确定在那里这会不会是一项大规模的运动,但我们都知道澳大利亚人是运动狂热分子,而且我相当肯定他们会向对手展示实力,不会比格拉斯哥赛事逊色。

至于训练,对于那些在社交媒体上关注我的人,您会知道康复进行得很顺利,尽管我们还没有彻底完成。放心吧,我会在黄金海岸全力战斗,没有其他事情比让我穿上国家运动服并重新赢得胜利的想法更为快乐或更有动力。我会继续在我们的社交渠道上更新所有信息,因此请确保您关注我们,并了解所有最新动态。

加布里

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

It hardly seems real that we won one of our most prestigious titles to date a little shy of four years ago when we won gold at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. In many ways, it feels just like yesterday. Chris and I often find ourselves reminiscing about that day – not just for the memories, but we also use it as a motivation booster and confidence driver knowing that we can beat anyone when we play our best.

Back then, everywhere you looked, you could feel the excitement of the Games. There was an air of confidence, competence and pride and the whole event was outstanding. The sport was top class, the organisation was flawless and the atmosphere was electric. Being part of a multisport event, as we were as well back in Delhi 2010 which was our first Commonwealth Games experience, it’s just this incredible feeling of being part of something very special and is always something that we really look forward to.

For us, Glasgow 2014 underlined how incredibly relevant the Commonwealth Games are.  In some sports in can be as difficult to win a medal at the Commonwealths as it is at the World Championships or the Olympic Games. In badminton, we are missing some of the big nations like China, Indonesia and Denmark, but with opposition like India and Malaysia, the competition is still world class. Don’t listen to anybody who tells you the Commonwealth Games are not that important nowadays, because they are, and not just in terms of the competition and medals, but for the legacy they leave behind and the inspirational power they wield over the generation of sports stars.

So fast forward four years, and we’re about to dust off our passports (it’s been a while!!) and head out to Australia’s Gold Coast where we’ll compete for Team England in the tournament which starts on 4th April. I’ll admit it……I’m fluctuating between nerves and excitement but there’s nothing quite like hard work to help get you where you want to be in life. And for me, that’s back on the podium, singing our national anthem with another gold medal around our necks.

We went into the Glasgow Games as top seeds, and this year’s a bit different. We just don’t know what we’ll be seeded yet as we haven’t been playing tournaments lately because of my injury. I genuinely feel like although we’re defending champions, the pressure is off, which is an entirely different position from Glasgow where we were playing in front of a home crowd in the final and there was a level of expectation. Would we be happy with silver, or a bronze? Well, at this stage, no. We’re going for gold. We fly out on 27 March and will have a week to acclimatise. Unfortunately for us, there is simply no time during the Games to go out and watch other sports as in week one it’s the team event, and week two sees our individual events take place. It’ll be interesting to see what Oz makes of badminton. I’m not aware of it being a massive sport out there, but we all know that Australians are sports fanatics, and I’m quite sure that they’ll put on a show to rival, if not better Glasgow.

As for practice, well for those of you who follow me on social media you’ll know that the rehab is going well, although we’re not quite there yet. Rest assured, I’ll be fighting fit for the Gold Coast though, and nothing makes me happier or more motivated than the thought of donning my country’s uniform and getting back to winning ways. I’ll continue to update you all on our social channels, so make sure you follow us for all the latest updates.


(Photo credit: Badminton Photo)