自我们为期六周的亚洲之旅已过去了几个星期。在6月和7月期间,我们在马来西亚、印度尼西亚、泰国和新加坡参赛,随后在中国广州参与了一次训练营,接着前往中国南京的世界锦标赛。这是我和加布里首次参与巡回比赛,我们以往最长的旅程大约是4周。然而由于加布里受伤,我们错过赛季前期三分之一的活动,我们认为有必要恢复最佳状态,以便在年底获得参加汇丰世界巡回赛决赛的资格,也同时维持我们世界前十的位置。

总的来说,我们对旅程感到非常满意,当然这次旅行起伏包括在马来西亚进行的一场非常激烈的半决赛以及在泰国的决赛,但我们仍然专注于最终目标,即南京的世界锦标赛。在整个行程中,我们携手前进,并尽量抽出时间享用美食和休闲活动(主要是要享受日光浴!),以便确保我们尽可能地保持活力。虽然我们也想念家居生活,但我们感到非常幸运,可以在一起完善一切事情,因为我们清楚地意识到,若非如此,这将变得更加困难。

我们抵达南京时,英格兰队的其他队员重拾良好状态,在广州短暂的停留让我们能够与当地战队进行一些切磋练习,这是一个很好的机会,允许我们在进入世界锦标赛前做最后的准备。我们还抽出时间拜访当地俱乐部,并与一些中国粉丝见面。我们为羽毛球运动持续受欢迎而感到高兴,能看到许多人对此运动很上心、玩得十分开心。

遗憾的是,经过一周的紧绷开局,我们无法重复去年格拉斯哥的光辉,没有赢得奖牌。我们在半复赛中输掉了比赛。虽然没有发挥出我们最巅峰状态,但我们还是为此战斗感到自豪,而让我们饮恨的中国队在当天实在是表现得更好。

之后,我和加布里忙里偷闲,飞往阳光明媚的西班牙。能在这疯狂的几周后,为自己充电真是太好了。虽然需要几天的假期才能让自己再次轻松,但我们很快就适应了!我们的大部分时间放在阳光明媚、漂亮的海滩,以及享用美味的食物。这是打造精神焕发的克里斯和加布里的秘诀。

在度假时,我们几度尝试通过短跑、游泳以及在健身房操练来维持战斗力(确保美食不会对我们造成负面影响!!)- 这意味着当我们回归训练时,可以立即投入练习。

回到家后,我们应该很快会开始接下来的日本、中国和韩国之旅。这是我们真正期待的旅行,日本一直是令人惊叹的参观和游玩之所,当然也是我们的主要赞助商Yonex的源地。他们总会努力让我们有宾至如归的感觉,并时常给我们提供一些新的运动用具,让你们眼前一亮!我们也总是尝试抽空去我们其中一个最喜爱的餐厅 – NOBU TOKYO!(那甜点真让人欲罢不能)你毫无疑问地可以相信这一点:www.noburestaurants.com/tokyo

我们很快就会回到赛场,当我们不在的时候,请务必密切注意我们的社交媒体帐户,以便及时了解我们的情况!而我将在下一次的更新中,介绍加布里过去和现在最喜欢的球员以及启发她的事物。

稍后再续
克里斯

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

Its been a few weeks now since our six week tour of Asia. Throughout June & July we had competitions in Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand & Singapore followed by a training camp in Guangzhou, China and then on to the World Championships in Nanjing, also in China. This was the first time both Gabby and I have been on a tour, our longest previous trip being around 4 weeks. However as we missed the first third of the season due to Gabby’s injury, we felt it necessary to give ourselves the best chance to qualify for the HSBC World Tour finals at the end of the year & of course maintain our top 10 ranking.

In general we were pretty happy with our trip, which of course had its up & downs that included an extremely tight semi final in Malaysia and reaching the final in Thailand but we managed to stay focused on the goal at the end, which was the World Championships in Nanjing. Throughout the trip we kept each other going and also made sure we made time for nice meals and time off (mainly sunbathing!) to make sure we stayed as fresh as we could. Although of course we miss being at home we feel extremely lucky that we can do this together as we are well aware it would be a lot harder if this was not the case.

We arrived in Nanjing with the rest of the England team feeling in good form again, helped by a brief stop in Guangzhou where we were able to practice with the local province team for some sparring, which was a great opportunity to get in some great final preparations for the World Championships. We also spent a little time visiting local clubs and meeting some of our Chinese fans. It’s always great to see how popular Badminton is and how many people were playing and having great fun in doing so.

Unfortunately after a solid start to the week we were unable to repeat our result from Glasgow last year and didn’t come away with a medal. We lost out in the quarter final and, although not playing our best, we were proud of the fight we put up & the Chinese pair we lost to were just better on the day.

Since then Gabby and have taken a break to sunny Spain. It was so nice to be able to switch off after such a crazy few weeks. Although it sometimes takes a few days of holiday to completely switch off it was something we quickly got used to!! Our time mostly consisted of lots of sun, great beaches & fantastic food, all a recipe for a refreshed Chris & Gabby.

On holiday we do try and keep ourselves in shape by going on a few runs, swims and a couple of visits to the gym (to make sure all the fantastic food doesn’t take too much toll!!) – this also means when we get back into training we can hit the ground running.

After getting back home our thoughts have quickly moved forward on to the next tour of Japan, China & Korea. This is a tour we are really looking forward to, Japan is always an amazing place to visit and play and is of course the home of our main sponsor Yonex, who always go the extra mile to make us feel at home, and whewe they will be supplying us with some new playing kit so keep you eyes peeled! We also always try & sneak a trip to one of our all time favorite restaurants, Nobu in Tokyo! (The dessert is to die for!!) if you ever get the chance trust me it’s a no brainer: www.noburestaurants.com/tokyo

We will catch up soon and while we are away make sure you keep and eye across our social media accounts to stay up to date on how we get on! And I think next time we will be taking about Gabby’s favourite players past & present and what inspires her.

Speak soon
Chris

(Photo Credit: Badminton Photo)