俗话说得好…. ‘未能准备好;那就准备失败吧!’ 我们最近所专注的事就是准备。自加布里受伤以来,我们一直为首次回归做准备,准备让我们2018年的活动最终可以顺利进行。最近我们一直在为尤尼克斯全英羽毛球公开赛筹备。是的,这是真的……我们终于复出了!

在过去的这几个月、几周内,我们一起经历了许许多多,我为加布里感到骄傲,她对其回到比赛中并赢得胜利的坚定决心,从未曾动摇过。每个运动员都有起伏,本周对我们而言将是新年以来不可多得的美好时期之一。

我们一直期待着全英公开赛。这不仅仅是因为它提供极高的排名积分或声望,或者它是史上举办最久远的赛事之一,可以列出以往杰出获胜者的辉煌名单。这是我们能在家乡主场参赛的主要赛事,作为一名运动员,没有什么感觉会比在家乡父老面前打球更好。毫无疑问,主场的球迷为我们欢呼,让我们享受一些非常棒的比赛,包括我们在过去的两年中迈入半决赛的时期。去年我们差一点就进入决赛,赛点实际不如何为我们带来帮助,事实上我在赛场上真的感到分外失望。但是,无论如何,正面而言,这是我们这周的心声。

仅仅想到可以在赛场上奋战都能让我兴奋得哆嗦。显而易见,我真的很怀念比赛的感觉,我也怀念主要赛事场地的澎湃气氛。伯明翰的人潮总是非常棒,我们期待在签名会中与你们见面。如果你无法来到现场,若是身在英国,您还是可以通过BCC体育网站观看,或者查看你所在国家媒体广播的网站。

至于我们的第一场比赛,抽签已经完成。我们身为七号种子对上吴顺发和赖洁敏。我知道我曾经无数次提到,但我们无法声明重回赛场会是多么兴奋。自从加布里受伤以来,我们每一天都引颈等待这一天。让我们可以回归比赛的康复已经完成了,如果继续休养,我们的状态也不会变得更好。我们准备好了,我们的身体状态很健康,我们将会在主场参赛。而且,再也不会有其他地方会比在主场比赛表现成功更特别了!

期待在伯明翰与你见面。

克里斯

(照片来源:Badminton Photo)

So the saying goes…. ‘fail to prepare; prepare to fail.’ One thing we’ve absolutely been doing lately is preparing. We’ve been preparing for our return to action for the first time since Gabby’s injury, preparing to finally get our 2018 campaign under way, and most recently we’ve been preparing for the Yonex All England Open Championships. Yes it’s true……we’re back at long last!

We’ve been through so much over these last few month and weeks, and I’m so proud of Gabs and how she’s never faltered with her unwavering determination to get black playing, and winning. Every athlete has their ups and downs, and this week for us looks set to be very much one of those good weeks which have been in fairly short supply since the New Year.

We always look forward to the All England. And it’s not just because it offers up massive ranking points or prestige, or the fact that it’s one of the longest running tournaments on the circuit that boats an illustrious list of past winners. This is the one major event we get to play at home, and as an athlete, there’s no better feeling than playing in front of a home crowd. Without a doubt, the home fans have contributed to us having enjoyed some really decent runs, including reaching the semi-finals for the last two years. Last year we came so close to making the Final, but a broken string for me on our match point didn’t exactly help us, and was in fact one of the times I’ve felt most gutted on court. But anyway, onto the positives, because that’s exactly how we’re feeling about this week.

Even thinking about walking on court gives me tingles. I’ve really missed the competition obviously, but I’ve also missed just being around all the buzz and excitement of a major event. The crowds are always really great in Birmingham, and we’re looking forward to meeting some of you at the signings. If you can’t make it and fancy tuning in, then you can watch via the BBC Sport website if you’re in the UK, or check the event’s website for broadcasters in your country.

As for our first match, well the draw’s already done and as 7th seeds, we play Goh Soon Huat and Shevon lemie Lai. I know I’ve already said it, but we just cannot stress how excited we are to get back on court. Every day since Gabby’s injury has been leading up to this point. The rehab to get us match fit for our return match is over, and we couldn’t have done more if we’d tried. We are ready, we’re healthy and we’re playing at home. And there’ll never be a better place to pull off something truly special than at home!

See you in Birmingham.


(Photo Credit: Badminton Photo)